Celebrating the WTCR pole stars

2021-07-31T00:38:24+02:00July 30th, 2021|2021|

When Santiago Urrutia went fastest of all in Qualifying Q3 at WTCR Race of Aragón last November he took pole position number 50 in the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup.

In doing so, the Cyan Performance Lynk & Co ace became the 21st driver to qualify at the front in the all-action series from promoter Eurosport Events. Here are some more facts:

Thed Björk became the first WTCR pole-sitter, a feat he achieved at WTCR Race of Morocco in April 2018. Frédéric Vervisch is the WTCR’s most recent fastest qualifier following his pole position at WTCR Race of Spain earlier this month.

Hungarian hero Norbert Michelisz (pictured) scored the first of his record-setting eight WTCR pole positions on home soil at the Hungaroring, also in April 2018.

 The first team-mates to set pole positions during the same weekend were Gabriele Tarquini and Michelisz. They took it in turns go fastest in qualifying at WTCR Race of Slovakia in July 2018 for the Hyundai-powered BRC Racing Team.

Michelisz (three times) and Benjamin Leuchter (once) are the only drivers to take WTCR pole positions at their home events.

It took until WTCR season two for the first Honda-powered pole position when Esteban Guerrieri set the pace in First Qualifying at WTCR Race of Morocco in April 2019.

Seven customer racing brands have celebrated WTCR pole positions. Audi is the first to take pole positions with two different generations of car.

Current King of WTCR Yann Ehrlacher set his one and only WTCR pole position (to date) at WTCR Race of Netherlands in May 2019 driving a Cyan Performance-entered Lynk & Co. However, Mikel Azcona and CUPRA are still waiting for their first WTCR pole position.

Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport’s Nathanaël Berthon holds the unofficial record for setting the most WTCR pole positions in the shortest period. The Frenchman was the poleman once at WTCR Race of Belgium and twice at WTCR Race of Slovakia and all in the space of 28 days in 2020.

Another Comtoyou driver, Gilles Magnus, is the second youngest WTCR pole-sitter behind Attila Tassi. The Belgian was 21 years, two months and one day when he posted the best lap in WTCR Race of Spain qualifying at MotorLand Aragón on October 31, 2020. Tassi holds the record after he snatched the Race 3 pole at WTCR Race of Portugal in 2019 aged 20 years and 23 days.

WTCR pole positions have been claimed on a Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

Reverse-grid pole positions were not taken into account in the preparation of this article.