WTCR 2020 IS GO!
The WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup continues to go from strength to strength new tracks, new rules and new battles in store.

The continued success and global appeal of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup is underlined by visits to two three countries – Austria, South Korea and Spain – on the #RoadToMalaysia, destination of the 2020 season super-finale at the Sepang International Circuit from 10-13 December.

The 2020 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup calendar is as follows:

WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup calendar 2020
WTCR Race of Slovakia (Slovakia Ring), 5-7 June 2020
WTCR Race of Portugal (Circuito Internacional de Vila Real), 19-21 June 2020
WTCR Race of Spain (MotorLand Aragón), 3-5 July 2020
WTCR Race of Austria (Salzburgring), 24-26 July 2020
WTCR Race of China (Ningbo International Speedpark), 18-20 September 2020
WTCR Race of South Korea (Inje Speedium), 16-18 October 2020
WTCR Race of Macau (Circuito da Guia), 19-22 November 2020
WTCR Race of Malaysia (Sepang International Circuit), 10-13 December 2020

New entry South Korea strengthens WTCR’s ties with Asia
The Inje Speedium circuit, located 160 kilometres north east of Seoul, is the venue for the first WTCR Race of South Korea from 16-18 October. Gabriele Tarquini, who won the inaugural WTCR title driving a Hyundai i30 N TCR, said: “It’s a very nice track, enjoyable with up and down sections, a bit like a small version of the Mugello circuit in Italy. When I drove there, it was complicated to find the line and this made it a good challenge. It will be good for our category of racing.”

Spain gets ready for first WTCR appearance
MotorLand Aragón was announced as a WTCR venue back in September, will host WTCR Race of Spain from 3-5 July. Event-winning Spanish CUPRA-powered WTCR racer and top rookie Mikel Azcona is a big fan. He said: “You can have a lot of overtakes and battles. It will be really fun for the spectators.”

WTCR racers set for Salzburg speedfest
Renowned for its high-speed sweeps and spectacular action, Salzburgring has hosted FIA World and European Touring Car events in the past. It will be the setting of the inaugural WTCR Race of Austria as the sixth event of the 2020 season in July. Situated some 12 kilometres east of the city of Salzburg in central Austria, Salzburgring was first used in 1969 and measures 4.241 kilometres in length. The track’s valley setting provides a picturesque backdrop, while its rapid layout offers an exciting challenge for drivers and plenty of action for fans.

The FIA Sporting Regulations for the 2020 season have undergone a few adjustments as follows:

Compensation weight calculations based on qualifying lap times only
Once the 2020 season is underway, race lap times will no longer be considered for the compensation weight calculations, meaning only qualifying lap times will count. Furthermore, the calculations will be made without the effect of the ballast being taken into consideration. Instead, a correction to the lap times will be applied, according to the ballast carried in the previous events.

The changes to the Sporting Regulations have been made to discourage teams – in tandem with customer racing brand engineers – from instructing drivers to effectively set slower race lap times to help limit the amount of additional weight added to their cars for the subsequent race weekend. The intended result is better racing as drivers will push on each lap to try to gain position, rather than driving with a compensation weight strategy in mind. The compensation weight calculations will be more accurate, fluctuate less and be close to the actual performance of each car in reality.

Rookie classification to showcase new talent
Drivers 23 and under on 1 January 2020 who have participated in no more than three WTCR events will be included in the new rookie classification, which has been introduced to recognise the achievements of young racers in WTCR.

Documents to download:
2020 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup sporting regulations