Jean-Karl Vernay

Birthdate : 10/31/1987


Lights fantastic: Vernay’s once promising single-seater career – he was Red Bull-backed in the Formula 3 Euro Series and came close to winning the Macau Grand Prix from pole in 2009 – took him to the USA in 2010 where he landed the Indy Lights title. Although he tested an IndyCar, he was unable to secure a race seat for 2011.

Sportscars of desire: Sportscars would prove a useful – and profitable – distraction for Vernay. He won the Porsche Carrera Cup title in France for Sébastien Loeb Racing in 2012 and claimed a class victory in the Le Mans 24 Hours the following season. He also enjoyed success in the WEC and the Blancpain Endurance Series – and raced in Super GT in Japan.

Old and new: While Team WRT had been Vernay’s Home since 2015, his switch to an Audi RS 3 LMS from a Volkswagen Golf for 2018 represented unchartered territory for the Frenchman. But it didn’t take him long to adapt; he won the second race of the inaugural season in Morocco.

Big title winner: By claiming the TCR International Series crown in 2017, having finished third the previous season, Vernay joined the WTCR grid in 2018 as a big title winner. He built on his strong reputation with four wins and fifth place in the final standings and continued to feature strongly for the Belgian team in 2019 before he moved to Team Mulsanne for 2020.

Did you know? Luxembourg-based Vernay, who has a degree in communication science and speaks Japanese, is not short of touring car racing experience. Between 2016 and 2017 he managed 48 race starts. When he’s not racing, Vernay co-commentates on Formula One races for French television.


2005: 1, Formula Campus France

2006: 2, Formula Renault 2.0 France

2007: 3, Zandvoort Masters of Formula 3

2007: Formula 3 Euro Series

2008: Formula 3 Euro Series

2009: Formula 3 Euro Series; 2, Macau Formula 3 Grand Prix

2010: 1, Indy Lights

2012: 1, Porsche Carrera Cup France

2013: 3, FIA World Endurance Championship (GTE AM); 1, Le Mans 24 Hours (GTE AM); Porsche Supercup

2014: Super GT; GT Asia

2015: 6, Blancpain Endurance Series; Audi R8 LMS Cup; GT Asia

2016: 3, TCR International Series

2017: 1, TCR International Series; TCR Benelux; TCR China; TCR Asia

2018: 5 (4 wins), WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO (Audi RS 3 LMS); 1, TCR Benelux; 2, TCR Europe

2019: 10 (best result 2), WTCR (Audi RS 3 LMS)

2020: 3 (1 win), WTCR (Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR by Romeo Ferraris); 1, WTCR Trophy