Norbert Michelisz

Birthdate : 08/08/1984



From online to on track: Michelisz’s online racing exploits earned him a test in a Zengő Motorsport Renault Clio at the Hungaroring in 2005. Despite being a total rookie, he ended up 0.2s slower than established racer Gábor Wéber.

One-make maestro: That testing performance earned him a season in the Suzuki Swift Cup in his homeland in 2006. With a career in economics on hold he promptly took the title before adding the Renault Clio equivalent the following season.

New horizons: The SEAT León Eurocup was next and after securing the crown in 2009, he stepped up to the FIA World Touring Car Championship with Zengő Motorsport a guiding light.

Factory chance: After winning the WTCC Trophy for independent racers twice, Michelisz landed a factory Honda ride for 2016, which culminated in an outright title challenge one year later. He eventually finished runner-up to Thed Björk with three wins and three fastest laps.

Did you know? Michelisz, one of 15 drivers to win during the inaugural WTCR / OSCARO season, joined forces with Hungarian engineer Dávid Bári to establish his own TCR racing team, M1RA.


2006: 1, Hungarian Suzuki Swift Cup

2007: 1, Hungarian Renault Clio Cup

2008: 2 (3 wins), Hungarian SEAT León Supercup; 14 (1 win), SEAT León Eurocup

2009: 1 (5 wins), SEAT León Eurocup; 3, European Touring Car Cup (SEAT León TDi); 1, Hungarian SEAT León Cup; 3, Spanish SEAT León Supercópa

2010: 9 (1 win, 1, Rookie Challenge), World Touring Car Championship (SEAT León TDi)

2011: 9 (best result 2), WTCC (BMW 320 TC)

2012: 6 (1 win, 1, Yokohama Trophy), WTCC (BMW 320 TC)

2013: 6 (1 win), WTCC (Honda Civic)

2014: 4 (best result 2), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC)

2015: 6 (1 win), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC); 1, Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy

2016: 4 (1 win), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC)

2017: 2 (3 wins), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC); 14 (1 win), TCR International Series (Honda Civic Type R TCR)

2018: 4 (1 win), WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO (Hyundai i30 N TCR)