Ehrlacher to start third Zandvoort WTCR race on the DHL Pole Position

2019-05-19T13:28:19+02:00May 19th, 2019|2019, WTCR Race of Netherlands 2019|

Yann Ehrlacher will start Race 3 of WTCR Race of Netherlands from the DHL Pole Position after Yvan Muller’s time from Second Qualifying Q3 was disallowed due to a breach of the regulations.

Muller had completed the final phase of Second Qualifying at WTCR Race of Netherlands on top in his Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 03 TCR. But post-Qualifying Q3 checks identified a non-compliance regarding the maximum boost pressure and the maximum engine speed values as published in the Balance of Performance chart issued for the event.

As a result, race stewards disqualified him from Second Qualifying Q3, which drops him to fifth place in the combined classification after his car was found to conform to the regulations when checked following Qualifying Q1 and Qualifying Q2.

Muller’s demotion hands his nephew and fellow Lynk & Co driver Ehrlacher first place for the Zandvoort weekend’s final race with Thed Björk moving up to second, Norbert Michelisz to third and Augusto Farfus to fourth in a session which ended with 0.9s having covered the top 25 in the first phase of the session.