Norbert Michelisz

Team : BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse
Birthdate : 08/08/1984


From online to on track: Michelisz’s online racing exploits earned him a test in a Zengő Motorsport Renault Clio at the Hungaroring in 2005. Despite being a total rookie, he ended up 0.2s slower than established racer Gábor Wéber.

One-make maestro: That testing performance earned him a season in the Suzuki Swift Cup in his homeland in 2006. With a career in economics on hold he promptly took the title before adding the Renault Clio equivalent the following season.

New horizons: The SEAT León Eurocup was next and after securing the crown in 2009, he stepped up to the FIA World Touring Car Championship with Zengő Motorsport a guiding light.

Factory chance: After winning the WTCC Trophy for independent racers twice, Michelisz landed a factory Honda ride for 2016, which culminated in an outright title challenge one year later. He eventually finished runner-up to Thed Björk with three wins and three fastest laps.

Did you know? Michelisz, the King of WTCR following his 2019 title triumph, established his own racing team, M1RA, with Hungarian engineer Dávid Bári.


2006: 1, Hungarian Suzuki Swift Cup

2007: 1, Hungarian Renault Clio Cup

2008: 2 (3 wins), Hungarian SEAT León Supercup; 14 (1 win), SEAT León Eurocup

2009: 1 (5 wins), SEAT León Eurocup; 3, European Touring Car Cup (SEAT León TDi); 1, Hungarian SEAT León Cup; 3, Spanish SEAT León Supercópa

2010: 9 (1 win, 1, Rookie Challenge), World Touring Car Championship (SEAT León TDi)

2011: 9 (best result 2), WTCC (BMW 320 TC)

2012: 6 (1 win, 1, Yokohama Trophy), WTCC (BMW 320 TC)

2013: 6 (1 win), WTCC (Honda Civic)

2014: 4 (best result 2), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC)

2015: 6 (1 win), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC); 1, Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy

2016: 4 (1 win), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC)

2017: 2 (3 wins), WTCC (Honda Civic WTCC); 14 (1 win), TCR International Series (Honda Civic Type R TCR)

2018: 4 (1 win), WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO (Hyundai i30 N TCR)

2019: 1 (5 wins), WTCR (Hyundai i30 N TCR)