WTCR Race of Macau 2019

WTCR Race of Macau 2019 - 14-17/11/2019

Macau’s 6.120-kilometre Circuito da Guia blends twisty turns and narrow blasts with long, wide-open straights and sweeping corners – plus gradient changes – to create one of the most challenging and spectacular street circuits on the planet. Touring car racing has been held in this Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China for more than half a century, with the famous Guia Race first run in 1972. Having welcomed back the WTCC in 2017 when Rob Huff bagged a record ninth win, Macau hosted the thrilling seven-way inaugural WTCR season showdown in November 2018 when Gabriele Tarquini took the title.


Weekend in short
*Tarquini is first FIA WTCR OSCARO title winner
*After 30 all-action races, title tussle comes down to final round and three points
*Vervisch becomes driver number 15 to triumph in 2018 with Race 2 victory
*Guerrieri holds off King of Macau Huff to score Suncity Group Guia Race glory
*Muller leads self-run squad to WTCR OSCARO Teams’ title

Weekend report: While Esteban Guerrieri and Frédéric Vervisch joined Jean-Karl Vernay as WTCR Race of Macau winners, it was Gabriele Tarquini who had the biggest cause for celebration by claiming the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO by a mere three points. Piloting a Hyundai i30 N TCR for BRC Racing Team on Yokohama tyres, Tarquini won the first event of the year in Morocco and has been firmly in the title fight ever since. Despite a troubled Second Qualifying in Macau leaving him outside of the top 10 for weekend’s deciding races, Tarquini did just enough with a P10 finish in Race 3 to hand him the title spoils ahead of Yvan Muller. Four-time world champion Muller gave his all to snatch the crown from Tarquini’s grasp but his podium brace wasn’t quite enough to claim the top prize although his self-run, Hyundai-powered YMR squad, which was formed on the eve of the season, beat BRC to the Teams’ title thanks to his and Thed Björk’s collective efforts. Nine-time Guia Race winner Rob Huff claimed a double DHL Pole Position in his Sébastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI but the King of Macau had to settle for third and second – plus the TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy. Guerrieri, meanwhile, soaked up immense pressure from Huff to win Race 3, his second triumph of the season following his success at the Nürburgring Nordschleife earlier in the year. The Honda-powered ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport driver, the TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver of the weekend, headed Huff and Norbert Michelisz with Muller fourth, Yann Ehrlacher fifth and Cupra-mounted Pepe Oriola completing the top six for Team OSCARO by Campos Racing. Vervisch (Audi Sport Team Comtoyou) became winner number 15 of the inaugural WTCR OSCARO season, pulling off a great pass to demote DHL Pole Position starter Timo Scheider to claim the Race 2 victory, taking the lead around the outside at Mandarin. Scheider took second with Muller third and Kevin Ceccon fourth in his Team Mulsanne Alfa Romeo Giulietta.

Winning quote: “I have the memory nine years I was thinking to stop racing because what do you want to achieve more than a world title?” said Gabriele Tarquini following his title triumph. “It’s probably the best time to stop, but I was thinking ‘why should I stop, I want to race. I have the adrenaline, I am not very slow, I can compete again.’ And I decided, because SEAT stopped, to start again with a private team in 2010, 2011, 2012 and then I was back in a Honda team. So I didn’t stop and this has been the greatest season. And I must also thank Hyundai for choosing me in the beginning, all the team, the mechanics and my team-mate. And I also want to congratulate Yvan, who made a great job through the season. He was my toughest opponent.”

Results reminder
DHL Pole Position Race 1: Rob Huff (GBR) Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
Race 1 winner: Jean-Karl Vernay (FRA) Audi RS 3 LMS
Race 1 fastest lap: Rob Huff (GBR) Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
DHL Pole Position Race 2: Timo Scheider (DEU) Honda Civic Type R TCR
Race 2 winner: Frédéric Vervisch (BEL) Audi RS 3 LMS
Race 2 fastest lap: Rob Huff (GBR) Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
DHL Pole Position Race 3: Rob Huff (GBR) Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
Race 3 winner: Esteban Guerrieri (ARG) Honda Civic Type R TCR
Race 3 fastest lap: Yann Ehrlacher (FRA) Honda Civic Type R TCR
TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy: Rob Huff (GBR) Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR
TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver: Esteban Guerrieri (ARG) Honda Civic Type R TCR

Track essentials
Name: Circuito da Guia
Location: Av da Amizade, Macau
Length: 6.120 kilometres
Race 1 distance: 8 laps (48.960 kilometres)
Race 2 distance: 8 laps (48.960 kilometres)
Race 3 distance: 11 laps (67.320 kilometres)
Best laps
WTCR lap record (qualifying): Rob Huff (Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR), 2m29.040s (147.80kph), 15/11/18
WTCR lap record (race): Rob Huff (Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR), 2m31.038s (145.80kph), 17/11/18
More details
Time zone: GMT +8 hours
Fly to: Hong Kong International Airport (40.4 kilometres)
Stay: Macau
MacauSpecialAdministrativeRegion - 12 Nov
23° 22°

Light Rain