Final 2019 WTCR / OSCARO calendar approved by FIA World Motor Sport Council

2019-03-07T21:01:47+02:00March 7th, 2019|2019|

The calendar for the 2019 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO has been approved by the FIA World Motor Sport Council.

At its meeting in Geneva today (7 March), the WMSC ratified the date of the inaugural WTCR Race of Malaysia from 13-15 December, thereby finalising the full schedule for the upcoming season.

The date of WTCR Race of Malaysia, which will form part of a ground-breaking festival of motorsport in Asia along with the FIM Endurance World Championship for motorbikes, had been subject to WMSC approval following the publication of the provisional date after a meeting of the FIA Touring Car Commission in Paris on 12 February.

François Ribeiro, Head of Eurosport Events, the WTCR promoter, welcomed the WMSC vote. He said: “We are very pleased the date for the WTCR / OSCARO super-finale has been confirmed for 13-15 December. With the FIM Endurance World Championship joint-headlining the event, fans will be treated to a unique show with action on two wheels as well as four. The event will also stage the WTCR’s first night race and, of course, the deciding rounds of the 2019 title battle. It’s going to be a truly memorable and spectacular weekend of entertainment. Preparations will now begin in earnest.”

WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO calendar 2019
Rounds 1-3: WTCR Race of Morocco, Circuit Moulay El Hassan, Marrakech (5-7 April)
Rounds 4-6: WTCR Race of Hungary, Hungaroring (26-28 April)
Rounds 7-9: WTCR Race of Slovakia, Slovakia Ring (10-12 May)
Rounds 10-12: WTCR Race of Netherlands, Zandvoort (17-19 May)
Rounds 13-15: WTCR Race of Germany, Nürburgring Nordschleife (20-22 June)
Rounds 16-18: WTCR Race of Portugal, Vila Real (5-7 July)
Rounds 19-21: WTCR Race of China, Ningbo (13-15 September)
Rounds 22-24: WTCR Race of Japan, Suzuka (25-27 October)
Rounds 25-27: WTCR Race of Macau, Circuito da Guia (14-17 November)
Rounds 28-30: WTCR Race of Malaysia, Sepang (13-15 December)