Five firsts: WTCR Race of Portugal

2018-06-28T17:33:32+02:00June 29th, 2018|2018, WTCR Race of Portugal 2018|

There were several breakthrough performances at WTCR Race of Portugal. Here’s a reminder of five firsts in Vila Real.

Thed Björk: Hyundai-powered YMR driver Björk scooped the TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy for the first time.

Edgar Florindo and José Rodrigues: The local wildcards became the first Portuguese drivers to race in the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO due to compatriot Tiago Monteiro’s ongoing recovery from injury currently keeping him off track.

Mato Homola: The Slovak’s first WTCR win for DG Sport Compétition made him the ninth different winner in WTCR OSCARO.

Pepe Oriola: A fine performance on his Vila Real debut earned Team OSCARO by Campos Racing’s Spaniard TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver status for the first time after the Cupra driver scored 50 points.

Gordon Shedden (pictured): Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team driver Shedden bagged his first reverse-grid DHL Pole Position, lining up P1 for Race 2.