Sporting 2018-08-29T14:48:07+02:00

WTCR rules in short
Regulated by the FIA and backed up by an experienced race management team, WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO events will be run to the highest organisational standards possible.

Weekend format
Each WTCR event will consist of three races – an increase from the previous two. One qualifying session and one race will take place on the opening day, with the second day more in keeping with the old WTCC set-up: namely a three-phase qualifying session and two races with the first race utilising a reverse grid.

Some events will require three days of track activity but a typical WTCR race weekend will be structured as follows:

Day one:
Free Practice 1 (30 minutes)
>Free Practice 2 (30 minutes)
>First Qualifying (30 minutes, 40 minutes at street circuits)
>Race 1

Day two:
>Second Qualifying Q1 (20 minutes, 30 minutes at street circuits)
>Second Qualifying Q2 (10 minutes, 15 minutes at street circuits)
>Second Qualifying Q3 (top-five shootout)
>Race 2 (top 10 positions after Second Qualifying reversed)
>Race 3 (grid as per combined order after Q3)

Points allocation
>Fastest five drivers in Q3 score points as follows: 5-4-3-2-1
>R1: top 10 classified finishers score points as follows: 27-20-17-14-12-10-8-6-4-2 >R2: top 10 classified finishers score points as follows: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1
>R3: top 10 classified finishers score points as follows: 30-23-19-16-13-10-7-4-2-1

A maximum of 26 entries will be accepted with priority given to teams from the TCR International Series, which will cease to run, and to teams that previously competed in the WTCC. Two further wildcard entries will be permitted at each event at the discretion of EEL and the FIA.

Balance of Performance (BOP) and success ballast
The FIA and TCR technical departments will determine the balance of performance (BOP) at each event, while success ballast will be allocated per driver. The FIA will be responsible for technical management in consultation with TCR representatives.

WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup Sporting Regulations 170818