Messaoud stars with Esports WTCR OSCARO win

2018-09-24T01:12:35+02:00September 24th, 2018|2018, Esports|

The Esports WTCR OSCARO Multiplayer Championship from RaceRoom – the virtual equivalent of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO – delivered drama even before the start at the Slovakia Ring during race night on Sunday evening.

Qualifying: Pole for Messaoud, problems for Leaune
Frenchman Redoine Messaoud, a rookie at the last round in Zandvoort, took pole for the OSCARO eSports by SDL squad, which would be without Kévin Leaune, was excluded prior to the race following an incident with Moritz Löhner in practice. Alexander Dornieden, last season’s Esports WTCC champion, and Gergo Baldi were second and third respectively.

Division 1, Race 1: No stopping pole-sitter Messaoud
After keeping his lead at the start, Messaoud dominated thereafter, building up a considerable margin. Behind him, Dornieden and Baldi started to battle, which gave Messaoud an advantage of more than one second in the early laps. Baldi and Dornieden were caught by Kevin Siggy Rebernak and a huge train of cars formed in the top 10 with close battles and a fair bit of paint-trading. Norbert Leitner went into the gravel and dropped out of the top 10, while Rebernak overtook Dornieden and Baldi on lap two. In the successive laps, Baldi subsequently lost more and more positions, while Florian Hasse, Tim Jarschel and Slovak hero Bence Bánki joined the battle for third. Behind them, Attila Dencs led a pack consisting of Andika Rama Maulana, Nikodem Wisniewski and Jan Stange. The fight for reverse grid pole got more and more gripping as the race progressed, with an incident between Maulana, Baldi and Stange deciding the outcome. Messaoud took his first win of the season in dominant fashion in his Audi, more than six seconds ahead of Rebernak (Hyundai) and Banki (Honda). Hasse was fifth in his Volkswagen, followed home by Jarschel and Dornieden, both in Audis. Attila Dencs completed his best race of the season in seventh ahead of Stange, Wisniewski and Maulana, who would take the reverse-grid pole.

Division 1, Race 2: Wisniewski makes it eight different winners
Maulana and Wisniewski made it an ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Honda front row and they duly preserved their advantage on the opening lap. Dencs held third, but was under pressure from Dornieden and Hasse, while Messaoud dropped back to last on the first lap after getting clipped by Baldi. Dencs’ strong run ended after he was passed by Dornieden, and then sent into the gravel trap by Hasse. Wisniewski, meanwhile, took the lead on lap four on the run down to Turn 10 with a move up the inside of Maulana. Dornieden then closed the gap to Maulana lap after lap. On the final tour, after some contact, Dornieden was ahead of Maulana and took second place. But it was Pole Nikodem Wisniewski who won, the Williams Esports team Honda driver, becoming the eighth different winner in eight races. Dornieden finished second ahead of Maulana, Hasse and Stange. Jarschel, Jaroslav Honzik, Bánki, Rebernak and Messaoud – after a strong recovery drive – rounded out the top 10.

Division 2: Winner Princzes leaves it late to make grid
It proved a stunning race from start to finish in Division 2. Maxime Delsaux took pole in a PEUGEOT, but dropped back on the first lap. Adam Pinczes, the final driver to make the grid, impressed and won the race ahead of Michael Rächl, Balint Benedek and Martin Barna, who all fought until the end. Peter Suborits rounded out the top five on his debut, moving up from the lower divisions in previous races.

Hasse the new leader
With these results, and with dropped scores now applied (the worst round result does not count and penalty points can’t be deleted, Florian Hasse now leads the championship in his Volkswagen ahead of Bencé Banki (Oscaro eSports / Honda) and Kevin Siggy Rebernak (EDGE Esports / Hyundai). Jan Stange (Impact Racing Team) and Alexander Dornieden (Veloce Esports) round out the top five.

Replay the action: The stream replay of the Slovakia Ring action is available on Facebook and YouTube

Next race: Suzuka, 19h00 CET, 21 October

Try qualifying: Click here for more information on how to qualify.

More on Esports WTCR OSCARO: click here for more on Esports WTCR OSCARO