Race 1 grid penalties for leading drivers

2018-10-26T12:40:05+02:00October 26th, 2018|2018, WTCR JVCKENWOOD Race of Japan 2018|

Thed Björk, Yann Ehrlacher, Esteban Guerrieri, Norbert Michelisz, Timo Scheider and Gabriele Tarquini will start Race 1 at WTCR JVCKENWOOD Race of Japan three places further back than where they qualified after they were penalised by event officials.

They were deemed to have driven unnecessarily slowly in the closing stages of qualifying, presumably to obtain more favourable track position, which created a potentially dangerous situation.

Because no driver was considered more at fault than the other, they were all docked three places for Saturday’s opening WTCR OSCARO counter.