Welcome to the 2020 WTCR − FIA World Touring Car Cup, the all-action motorsport series from Eurosport Events in partnership with governing body the FIA and WSC, the company behind the TCR concept and trademark.

Due to be droadcast live around the world and backed up by an expert social media and promotional campaign, WTCR races take place at spectacular tracks with bumper-to-bumper drama guaranteed.

Ace drivers range from category experts to ex-Formula One racers, and young hopefuls to experienced campaigners, who battle hard on every lap.

They compete in TCR cars via a licensing agreement with WSC. TCR cars are race-ready versions of road cars from Audi, CUPRA, Honda, Hyundai and Lynk & Co, which use turbocharged engines with a power cap of 360bhp and a maximum speed of 260kph. Goodyear is the exclusive tyre supplier.

WTCR weekends include practice sessions, a three-phase qualifying shootout for the DHL Pole Position and sprint-style races with one grid using a partially-reversed format to further spice up the excitement.

Points are awarded to the fastest five drivers in qualifying and the top 15 finishers in each race. There are prestigious FIA world titles for the winning driver and team, while the TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy and TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver are up for grabs at each event.

WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup revised calendar 2020 (proposed)
It is hoped the schedule below can be achieved in accordance with all government restrictions:

WTCR Race of Austria (Salzburgring, 12-13 September), 2 races
WTCR Race of Germany (Nürburgring Nordschleife, 24-26 September), 2 races
WTCR Race of Slovakia (Slovakia Ring,10-11 October), 3 races
WTCR Race of Hungary (Hungaroring, 17-18 October), 3 races
WTCR Race of Spain (MotorLand Aragón, 31 October-1 November), 3 races
WTCR Race of Italy (Adria International Raceway, 14-15 November), 3 race

Full-season entries set to re-open for limited period
With the 2020 WTCR − FIA World Touring Car Cup set to fire up in September, full-season entries will reopen for a limited period subject to final FIA World Motor Sport Council approval when it meets on 19 June.

The move follows a vote by FIA Touring Car Commission members to allow registrations from entrants with a single car for the planned six-event schedule, which is due to begin at WTCR Race of Austria from 12-13 September and conclude at WTCR Race of Italy from 14-15 November.

While the first wave of registrations closed on 6 March, the coronavirus pandemic prevented a number of drivers from formalising their plans ahead of that deadline. Therefore, it was always the intention to provide an opportunity for drivers to compete in WTCR on a full-season basis once the extensive work to finalise the restructured calendar had been completed.

With the revised, Europe-only schedule for 2020 now formally approved by the FIA, the process of reopening full-season entries is underway.

Only registrations from single-car entrants can be submitted and these new entrants will not be eligible for the 2020 WTCR − FIA World Touring Car Cup for Teams, although drivers will be able to score points and compete for a coveted FIA world title. Furthermore, if existing teams wish to submit an additional entry, they can do so but only for a driver who is eligible for the new Rookie classification.

FIA world title up for grabs, extensive promotional and marketing opportunities on offer
All WTCR drivers competing on a full-season basis will be eligible for a coveted FIA world title and will benefit from significant media exposure. Last season, a cumulative audience of 506 million watched WTCR races on 75 different TV channels in 185 countries, while 1.3 million people follow the WTCR on social media.

Restructured six-event season includes three new venues and cost savings
Of the six venues set to host WTCR action in 2020, three are new to the series, which will create more of a level playing field for all teams. In addition, cost-saving measures include:

*One official test day at Salzburgring prior to WTCR Race of Austria
*15% reduction in staff numbers with a maximum of 6 per car
*30% reduction in the Goodyear tyre allocation (16 new for first event, 12 new for second event, 16 new for each event thereafter)
*30% reduction in cost of fuel to €4 per litre
*Events include 2 free practice sessions, 1 qualifying and 3 races (2 races in Austria and Germany)
*Circuit access not permitted until late afternoon on the day before scrutineering

How to enter?
Subject to the FIA World Motor Sport Council approval, prospective teams will be able to submit full-season entries from 20 June via the online system, which is available at:

Fiona Rees, the WTCR Teams Coordinator, is available for any enquiries by emailing

The deadline for full-season entries is 14 August.

Other changes for 2020
The FIA Sporting Regulations for the 2020 season have undergone a few adjustments as follows:

Compensation weight calculations based on qualifying lap times only
Once the 2020 season is underway, race lap times will no longer be considered for the compensation weight calculations, meaning only qualifying lap times will count. Furthermore, the calculations will be made without the effect of the ballast being taken into consideration. Instead, a correction to the lap times will be applied, according to the ballast carried in the previous events.

The changes to the Sporting Regulations have been made to discourage teams – in tandem with customer racing brand engineers – from instructing drivers to effectively set slower race lap times to help limit the amount of additional weight added to their cars for the subsequent race weekend. The intended result is better racing as drivers will push on each lap to try to gain position, rather than driving with a compensation weight strategy in mind. The compensation weight calculations will be more accurate, fluctuate less and be close to the actual performance of each car in reality.

Rookie classification to showcase new talent
Drivers 23 and under on 1 January 2020 who have participated in no more than three WTCR events will be included in the new rookie classification, which has been introduced to recognise the achievements of young racers in WTCR.

Race-by-race entries
Drivers contesting rounds of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup on a race-by-race basis will benefit from two regulation changes for 2020.
*The entry for wildcard racers per event drops from €10,000 to €5,000
*The mandatory compensation weight carried falls from 20 kilograms to 10 kilograms
Click here for more information on competing on a race-by-race basis.

Documents to download:
2020 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup sporting regulations 06032
2020 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup technical regulations 060320