Stories of the first WTCR year: Magnificent Muller bosses it!

2018-12-28T01:08:13+01:00December 28th, 2018|2018|

Yvan Muller might have missed out on winning the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO for Drivers by a mere three points but it would still prove to be a euphoric Macau finale for the French legend.

Muller, who came out of retirement for the 2018 season, formed his eponymous WTCR team on the eve of the new campaign, entering two Hyundai i30 N TCRs for he and Thed Björk, the 2017 FIA World Touring Car champion.

With the support of personnel from Cyan Racing, YMR beat rival Hyundai-powered outfit BRC to the Teams’ title by a three-point margin, the culmination of an epic struggle for supremacy.

“I am very proud of what we have achieved,” Muller said following the Macau season closer. “Okay, so I am a four-time world champion as a driver, but like I said to my boys, I would easily give one of my titles to be a team champion. I am very happy.”

YMR completed WTCR OSCARO season one with seven wins, six DHL Pole Position Awards, five fastest laps and 78 laps led.

Click here to watch Muller and Gabriele Tarquini discussing the Macau season showdown on the WTCR’s All Access ‘Almost’ Live programme.