Stories of the first WTCR year: Tarquini wins world title in Macau

2018-12-29T01:16:36+01:00December 29th, 2018|2018|

While Esteban Guerrieri and Frédéric Vervisch joined Jean-Karl Vernay as WTCR Race of Macau winners, it was Gabriele Tarquini who had the biggest cause for celebration by claiming the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO by a slender three points.

Piloting a Hyundai i30 N TCR for BRC Racing Team on Yokohama tyres, Tarquini won the first event of the year in Morocco and was firmly in the title fight thereafter.

Despite a troubled Second Qualifying in Macau leaving him outside of the top 10 for Sunday’s deciding races, Tarquini did just enough with a P10 finish in Race 3 to hand him the title spoils ahead of Yvan Muller.

“I have the memory nine years I was thinking to stop racing because what do you want to achieve more than a world title?” said Tarquini, 56. “It’s probably the best time to stop, but I was thinking ‘why should I stop, I want to race. I have the adrenaline, I am not very slow, I can compete again.’ And I decided, because SEAT stopped, to start again with a private team in 2010, 2011, 2012 and then I was back in a Honda team. So I didn’t stop and this has been the greatest season. And I must also thank Hyundai for choosing me in the beginning, all the team, the mechanics and my team-mate. And I also want to congratulate Yvan, who made a great job through the season. He was my toughest opponent.”

Ex-Formula One driver Tarquini, who claimed the FIA World Touring Car Championship in 2009, scored five wins, two poles, five fastest laps and led 73 race laps during the season.

Click here for a reminder of Tarquini’s WTCR OSCARO title triumph. Final WTCR standings can be viewed here.