WTCR 2020 in firsts

2020-12-29T00:41:37+01:00December 29th, 2020|2020|

The third WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup season delivered plenty of firsts. Here’s a reminder of just some of them.

Cars: CUPRA’s Leon Competición and Renault’s Mégane RS TCR were on track in the WTCR for the first time.

Drivers: Nicolas Baert, Bence Boldizs, Josh Files, Luca Filippi, Nico Gruber, Gábor Kismarty-Lechner, Gilles Magnus, Dylan O’Keeffe, José Manuel Sapag, Santiago Urrutia and Jack Young all raced in the WTCR for the first time.

Format: For the first time a single qualifying session was scheduled at each event rather than two as previously.

Online: Esteban Guerrieri became the first WTCR driver to win an Esports WTCR race.

Podiums: Attila Tassi scored his first WTCR podium.

Pole positions: Yann Ehrlacher became the first WTCR title winner not to claim a DHL Pole Position.

Races: The WTCR visited Belgium and Spain for the first time, while Spain became the first country since China in 2018 to host the WTCR not once but twice.

Teams: Vuković Motorsport embarked on its first WTCR campaign.

Titles: The WTCR Rookie Driver and WTCR Trophy were awarded for the first time.

Tyres: Goodyear became the WTCR’s official tyre supplier for the first time, providing its Eagle F1 SuperSport race tyre.

Wins: Nathanaël Berthon, Nicky Catsburg, Tom Coronel and Santiago Urrutia all won in the WTCR for the first time.