Lewis Hamilton present as WTCR OSCARO title winners honoured by FIA in Russia

2018-12-09T08:15:31+02:00December 8th, 2018|2018|

Gabriele Tarquini is officially the winner of the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO after he was honoured at the governing body’s Prize Giving ceremony in St Petersburg, Russia, last night.

Tarquini, pictured left, became the provisional WTCR OSCARO title winner by three points following a thrilling season showdown in Macau last month, when seven drivers were in contention for glory.

At the FIA Prize Giving ceremony held in the Grand Hall of the historic St Petersburg Philharmonia, Italian Tarquini was handed the FIA trophy to officially secure the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO for Drivers.

The prize complements the trophy from WTCR promoter Eurosport Events, which was presented to him by the organisation’s head, François Ribeiro, and FIA Touring Car Commission President Alan Gow in Macau.

Yvan Muller, pictured right, was also honoured at the event. The Frenchman, who finished runner-up to Tarquini in the Drivers’ table, collected the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO for Teams in his capacity as boss of the YMR squad, which beat fellow Hyundai i30 N TCR-powered outfit BRC Racing Team to the prestigious award by three points.

Other FIA title winners honoured in St Petersburg were FIA Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton, FIA World Rally Championship winner Sébastien Ogier and Johan Kristoffersson, who won the FIA World Rallycross Championship for a second time.

Meanwhile, St Petersburg residents Alexey Lukyanuk and Alexey Arnautov are officially the winners of the FIA European Rally Championship after they received their trophies during Friday night’s ceremony. Like WTCR OSCARO, the ERC is promoted by Eurosport Events.