WTCR Qualifying flash: Bennani and Magnus star for Comtoyou Team Audi Sport

2022-05-28T01:10:29+02:00May 27th, 2022|2022, WTCR Race of Germany 2022|

Mehdi Bennani snatched pole position for Race 1 at WTCR Race of Germany with a sensational final lap in Qualifying on the Nürburgring Nordschleife, with Comtoyou Team Audi Sport team-mate Gilles Magnus just 0.015s slower around the 25.378-kilometre circuit.

The Comtoyou duo were the only drivers to manage three laps in the 30-minute session, with their final efforts proving decisive. Their committed attempts in their Goodyear-equipped Audi RS 3 LMSs knocked the Lynk and Cos of Santiago Urrutia and a frustrated King of WTCR Yann Ehrlacher, who both only completed one lap, down to third and fourth.

Mikel Azcona was fifth fastest in his BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse Elantra N TCR, ahead of Cyan Performance driver Thed Björk, who like Urrutia and Ehrlacher, only completed one lap in his Lynk & Co.

Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport’s Nathanaël Berthon was seventh fastest, while Goodyear #FollowTheLeader Néstor Girolami was the fastest of the Honda Civic Type R TCRs in eighth. But the ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport driver, lost the opportunity to improve on his final lap, when Rob Huff spun and crashed his Zengő Motorsport Cupra Leon Competición ahead of him. Huff ended up in P12 thanks to his first-lap effort, while on his first run, Girolami also lost the bodywork over his front right wheel arch on Döttinger Hohe.

Norbert Michelisz was ninth fastest in his Hyundai, with Cyan Racing Lynk & Co’s Yvan Muller – the only Lynk & Co driver to log two laps – in P10. That means the Frenchman will start the partially reversed grid Race 2 from pole position.

Ma Quing Hua was in P11 for Cyan Performance Lynk & Co, ahead of Huff, Esteban Guerrieri (ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport), Attila Tassi (LIQUI MOLY Team Engstler) and Tom Coronel (Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport). Engstler’s Tiago Monteiro (Honda) and Zengő driver Dániel Nagy completed the final order.

Race 1 at WTCR Race of Germany takes place tomorrow (Saturday) at 10h00 local time, with Race 2 due to follow at 12h35.